leap and the net shall appear

ahem…can i have your attention please? i just quit my job. handed in emailed my resignation and hit send. there is no turning back, no saying, “my bad. i didn’t really mean to quit.” so i’ve taken the BIG leap of faith, and officially have begun to panic. currently in freaking out mode. (breathing into brown paper bag right now. in… out…in…out)

whew. breathing better now. so what led to this decision? over the past few months ok, year, i haven’t done the greatest job for my cake compadres, or for my boss out there in corporate america. my focus was so divided, and i felt like i was being pulled in several different directions. truthfully, i felt a lot like the dog that lost its head (see the post “the massive fail”). it made me realize that i can’t serve two masters, and since i am the master of my fate and the captain of my ship, i’d rather kick the corporate master to the curb!

the end of one year and the beginning of another, tend to make us reflective and contemplative. it felt like now was the time to take that immense leap of faith. of course that felt a lot better before i hit the send button! as i looked for a piece of clip art to illustrate the jump into the unknown, i came across this quote:

“leap and the net shall appear”

and just like that the pressure in my chest eased enough for breath enough to sustain me. this will be very difficult, and i’m sure that the panic and worry will come and go, but right now, at this specific moment in time, i am excited about what comes next. i’ve opened my hands to receive whatever the new year brings. i’m incredibly energized about having  the space and time to be creative, to get better at my craft.

to my fellow entrepreneurs, my holiday wishes for you, are much success, enthusiasm, prosperity, and perserverance for 2011. leap on!

1 Comment

Filed under adventures, inspiration musings

One response to “leap and the net shall appear

  1. Joanne

    Did the same in November. I now pick and choose what projects I want to take on so I guess I am an entrepreneur too! Yes, the net will appear. Taking that leap has been the best thing for the fam so far.

Leave a Reply

